Goodbye SL

I’ve been threatening to do it for years but this is finally the year. At the beginning of 2012, I sent my Dynamics SL clients a letter saying this was the last year I was going to support the product.

For years I’ve made money off a product that I basically hate.  I knew a lot about it from working with it for years but it constantly makes me beat my head against the wall.  In my opinion, Solomon painted themselves in the corner with the SWIM architecture many years ago and have just been milking a cash cow ever since.

Well – I’ve finally gotten up the courage to burn this particular boat and turn my attention to my new startup – Circlebox.  I’m leaving this blog up in case any of the information helps anyone, but don’t plan on updating it any more.

To all of you still working with Dynamics SL – good luck!

  1. May 18, 2012 at 8:24 am

    Jeff – Best of luck to you.

  2. May 18, 2012 at 8:58 am

    What software do you like, and is not difficult to migrate to from Solomon?

    • May 18, 2012 at 9:35 am

      I wish I had a good answer for that. If I did – I might still be in the accounting software business. Sorry.

      • Jamie Wilcox
        August 24, 2012 at 9:50 am

        Solomon SL has filled me with hate and dread. I sure wish there was an alternative software (that does not require an IT department) that can handle construction accounting – union payroll, OH Workers Comp, Certified Payrolls. Anyone want to recommend something?

    • June 22, 2012 at 6:36 am

      You might look at Acumatica (www.acumatica.com)

      Kevin Finn
      London

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

